Time Capsule: Projection of my Future 

I met the person I could become yesterday, a projection of my future

He had thought what I thought, felt what I felt, and been who I was

All my insecurities, my deepest secrets, he already knew them

My macho bravado, aggression, all my forms of overcompensation

He saw a mask in front of a confused boy who didn’t know who he was

To most I am the fool, the one who makes them laugh, brings them joy

They box me in, tell me to stay, they can’t be bothered to see me as more

So I pursue everything at night so they can’t chain me down during the day

In the morning I find myself always asking myself will I don my mask again?

Will I let the collective decide who I am? Will I be who they want me to be?

No, Not anymore, I’m done, I don’t want to live in this shrinking box anymore

So I think I’ll take off this mask, and step outside, consequences be damned

See I’ve been chasing this horizon, pursuing a dream that is floating away

It’s been a search for a blooming light that hasn’t yet reached its fever pitch

My throat has felt dry, and shredded, I’ve been holding back for too long

So as he spoke his sweet melody, finally I felt like I had my voice again

Leave a comment