Time Capsule: On Death and Dying

On the subject of death and dying, a memoir to my grandmother

Back then they were always in the clinic, and I was always with her

She had raised me and my cousins, my uncle had overdosed

Times were changing, gangs were taking off, my country was dying

So we left, and we moved to a land of strangers and glaciers

Death followed, my aunt fell sick, an autoimmune disease

Hospital bills, checkups, medicine, needles, longs night

Then she was gone, she wasn’t coming back, another one gone

So we left, this time to family Los Angeles, then finally Texas

But dying called, my grandmother, my rearer had cancer

We visited her, chemotherapy, radiation, we were killing her

But with time remission came, and with that just a little bit of hope

But death had an appointment, so we came again, this time to hospice

The hope was drained, so we celebrated while we could

A tea party, a mariachi band, every night dinner and a movie

Soon bound to bed, entranced by sleep, and unable to speak

We took turns holding those worn hands whose warmth escaped them

One night we bought some pizza and watched her favorite movies

I went to bed at 4 in the morning and in my dreams I felt at peace

When I woke the funeral staff had already taken her, death had arrived

 

At the funeral home, I felt emotions I didn’t understand, I was overwhelmed

All these new faces, they didn’t see her slowly all apart, they didn’t care

They could never understand what I felt, what my mom felt, what she felt

Not that it mattered, she was dead, and there was nothing left to be done

At the time dying was absolute to me, until I realized her memory remains

Her pancakes and egg dishes, her lasagna, and her bony hugs, her smile

All the times she held me, helped wash my scraped knees, held me up high

Taught me individual responsibility, and how to get back up after failing

The times she talked to me about the adventures of her youth and life lessons

How she met my grandfather, how she worked overtime to raise my family

What the civil war in our country was like, what being a good person meant

And her final lesson that in death and dying love can go a long way

Leave a comment